Daytona History: Roush Fenway Dominates 2012 Speedweeks; Claims Historic 300th Win

Daytona History: Roush Fenway Dominates 2012 Speedweeks; Claims Historic 300th Win

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 16, 2016) – Roush Fenway Racing officially kicked off its 25th Anniversary season in grand fashion to start 2012, with Matt Kenseth holding off teammate Greg Biffle as the organization claimed its historic 300th NASCAR victory with its second Daytona 500 win in the first ever night-time running of the famed event at Daytona International Speedway.

The victory concluded a dominating performance by the Roush Fenway Fords at Daytona Speedweeks that saw the team lead several practice sessions, sweep the front row on pole day with Biffle and Carl Edwards and win the second Gatorade Duel qualifying race on Thursday with Kenseth. Kenseth became the first driver to win both a duel race and the 500 since 2004. It was Roush Fenway’s second Daytona 500 win in the last four seasons.

“This is a special night,” said team co-owner Jack Roush. “It feels great. It is very fitting that Matt won the 300th victory that we have had since we started in 1988 and (crew chief) Jimmy Fennig has been with us for most of the time. It is great to celebrate our 300th win here with the 54th Daytona 500. This is our second 500 win and that makes it special as well.”

Kenseth and Biffle combined to lead 83 of 200 laps in the race, with Kenseth taking the lead for the final time with 37 laps remaining and holding the point until the race’s conclusion with a green-white-checkered finish. With the victory, Roush Fenway becomes the first team in NASCAR history to win 300 races.

Biffle, who started the race second, finished third after getting passed on the final lap going for the lead. Carl Edwards – who started the race on the pole – overcame a late accident to finish eighth, while Ricky Stenhouse Jr. finished 20th, after getting caught up in a multi-car accident with only four laps remaining in his first Daytona 500.

Roush Fenway Racing is the winningest team in NASCAR history, fielding multiple teams in NASCAR Sprint Cup Series and NASCAR XFINITY Series competition with drivers Greg Biffle, Ricky Stenhouse Jr., Trevor Bayne, Ryan Reed, Chris Buescher and Bubba Wallace. Now in its 28th season, Roush Fenway is a leader in driver development, having launched the careers for many of the top drivers in the sport. Off-track, Roush Fenway is a leader in NASCAR marketing solutions, pioneering motorsport’s first team-focused TV show and producing multiple award-winning digital and experiential marketing campaigns. Roush Fenway is co-owned by Jack Roush, the winningest team owner in NASCAR history and Fenway Sports Group, parent company of Major League Baseball’s Boston Red Sox and English Premier League’s Liverpool F.C. Visit, circle on Google+, become a fan on Facebook and Instagram and follow on Twitter at @roushfenway.