Roush Fenway Returns to the Heartland

Roush Fenway Returns to the Heartland

Roush Fenway Returns to the Heartland

Roush Fenway Racing heads to the Great Plains this weekend as the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series (MENCS) converges on Kansas Speedway for a Saturday night showdown. Jack Roush has sent nine cars to victory lane at the 1.5-mile track, four of which were Cup wins.

Kansas Speedway

Saturday, May 11| 7:30 p.m. ET

FS1, MRN, SiriusXM Channel 90

  • Ryan Newman, No. 6 Performance Plus Ford Mustang
  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 17 SunnyD Ford Mustang

Follow the Yellow Brick Road

Overall, Roush Fenway has started 163 races across the MENCS, NASCAR Xfinity Series and NASCAR Gander Outdoor Truck Series (NGOTS), earning a total of nine wins, 41 top-five finishes, 75 top-10 finishes and has an overall average finish of 14.4.

Winning at Kansas

Roush Fenway swept both the NASCAR Xfinity Series and MENCS races at Kansas in the fall of 2012 with Ricky Stenhouse Jr. and Matt Kenseth. Stenhouse became the sixth driver to win at the track for the organization via his Xfinity victory.

NASCAR Hall of Famer Mark Martin earned Roush Fenway’s first MENCS win at Kansas in 2005 and former driver Greg Biffle bested the 1.5-mile track in 2007 and 2010. Roush Fenway’s first overall win at Kansas came in 2002 via Jeff Burton in the NASCAR Xfinity Series. Three drivers (Jon Wood in 2003, Carl Edwards in 2004 and Erik Darnell in 2007) have won in the NGOTS at Kansas for Roush Fenway.

Tale of the Tape

Roush Fenway has started 94 MENCS races at Kansas, recording four victories, 20 top-five finishes, 35 top-10 finishes, an average finish of 15.9 and has led 944 laps. Kenseth earned the most recent victory at Kansas in the fall of 2012.

Where They Rank

Coming off Dover, Ryan Newman sits inside the playoff picture 14th in the driver standings, while Ricky Stenhouse Jr., is 21st. Just 16 points separate the 14th-20th spots in points.

Roush Fenway Kansas Wins

2002       Burton  NXS

2003       Wood    Truck

2004       Edwards Truck

2005       Martin  Cup

2007       Biffle     Cup

2007       Darnell  Truck

2010       Biffle                     Cup

2012-2   Kenseth               Cup

2012       Stenhouse          NXS