Roush Fenway Sweeps First Two Showdown Segments; Races into Sprint All-Star Race

Roush Fenway Sweeps First Two Showdown Segments; Races into Sprint All-Star Race

CONCORD, N.C.  (May 21, 2016) – Roush Fenway Racing’s Trevor Bayne and Greg Biffle swept the first two segments in Saturday morning’s Sprint Showdown race at Charlotte Motor Speedway to race their way into tonight’s Sprint All-Star Race; keeping alive Roush Fenway’s streak of now 27 consecutive All-Star starts.

Bayne restarted fourth and took the lead on a late restart with only one lap to go, before putting his No. 6 AdvoCare Ford in front of the No. 24 car by only five-thousands-of-a-second at the finish line.

“That was pretty cool,” said Bayne after the race. “I thought that would be our best shot.  I got a good restart and off (turn) two there was a tiny hole and somehow our car got through it without getting beat up, so we’ll take it.  I was thinking about what I could do and I timed the restart really good and got right to the No. 21’s bumper at the line and was able to get three-wide off of turn two.

“The car was pretty good there,” added Bayne. “In clean air I was alright.  I was a little concerned with dirty air, but I got a run and went through the middle.  It was a little sketchy squeezing through that hole, but it worked.”

Biffle passed the No. 3 car four laps into the second segment and led 16 laps to claim the victory and earn his way into what will be his 13th-All-Star start.  This marked the third time that Biffle has raced his way into the All-Star race via the Showdown.

“I was being as aggressive as I could be, and I knew it was 20 laps and I knew that was my chance,” said Biffle. “The No. 3 car was a little bit loose and so was I, but I made some adjustments on my driving style and was able to get by him.”

“I think it’s pretty clear right now that track position is going be king,” added Biffle. “But we’ll have to wait and see until later on tonight.”

Tonight’s Sprint All-Star race is set for 9 p.m. ET and will be televised live on FS1. Qualifying for the All-Star will begin at 7:10 p.m.

Roush Fenway has won the Sprint All-Star race on four occasions, with wins in 1998, 2004, 2005 and 2011.