Roush Fenway Weekly Advance | Atlanta

Roush Fenway Weekly Advance | Atlanta

After two weeks on the west coast, the NASCAR circuit heads south to Atlanta for a 500-mile race Sunday afternoon for the first of two events at the 1.5-mile track scheduled for the 2021 season. Jack Roush has 13 wins all-time in Atlanta, including six in the Cup Series. 

Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 

Sunday, March 21 | 3 p.m. ET 

FOX, PRNSiriusXM Channel 90 

  • Ryan Newman, No. 6 Kohler Generators Ford Mustang 
  • Chris Buescher, No. 17 Fastenal Ford Mustang 


Phoenix Recap, Atlanta Preview 

  • Newman finished 28th a week ago at Phoenix. 
  • Buescher battled back to finish 18th at Phoenix. 
  • Kohler Generators – who made its debut on Newman’s machine at the Daytona 500 – returns for its second race of 2021. 
  • Buescher will sport the familiar colors of Fastenal on his No. 17 machine at Atlanta. 

Roush Fenway at Atlanta 

Roush Fenway has 265 total starts at AMS in the three major NASCAR touring series, totaling 13 wins, 59 top-fives, 110 top-10s and 9 poles, while leading 3,154 laps and turning over 102,000 miles. The team has 184 starts in NCS action with six wins and 71 top-10s with four poles. 

AMS/Roush Fenway History 

Roush Fenway competed in its first NASCAR event at AMS on March 20, 1988, finishing 31st after getting 

involved in an early crash. Just three years later the organization claimed its first win there in the fall of ‘91 with the No. 6 Ford. Roush Fenway won its first of seven NXS races at the track in the spring of ’97. Roush Fenway’s top outing at AMS came in the fall of 2005, when the organization placed four cars inside the top seven, with three cars finishing in the top five including race winner Carl Edwards. Altogether in the two races at AMS in 2005, Roush Fenway posted six top-five finishes and two wins. 

Spring Forward 

All but one of Roush Fenway’s Cup wins at AMS came in the fall, with the only spring win coming in 2005. Three of RFR’s seven NXS wins came in the fall. 

Roush Fenway Atlanta Wins 

1991-2 Martin Cup 

1994-2 Martin Cup 

1997-1 Martin NXS 

1998-2 Martin NXS 

2000-1 Martin NXS 

2002-2 Busch Cup 

2005-1 Edwards Cup 

2005-1 Edwards NXS 

2005-2 Edwards Cup 

2008-1 Kenseth NXS 

2008-2 Edwards Cup 

2011 Edwards NXS 

2012 Stenhouse NXS