Roush Fenway Racing Looks to Recapture Magic at Charlotte Motor Speedway


Roush Fenway Earned Four-Straight Coca-Cola 600 Wins from 1999-2002

CONCORD, N.C. (May 26, 2016) – From 1999 to 2002, Roush Fenway Racing accomplished a unique feat – earning four-consecutive victories in the longest race of the season, the Coca-Cola 600.

“We’ve experienced a great deal of success at Charlotte, and that’s something that we’re really proud of,” said team co-owner Jack Roush.  “Throughout the years we’ve had great talent at Roush Fenway, both behind the wheel and in our shops.”

The streak started in 1999, when Jeff Burton qualified second for the season’s longest race.  The driver of the No. 99 led an impressive 198 laps on the way to his third victory of the season.  Burton would win a total of six times that season, finishing fifth in the overall driver standings.

When Roush Fenway returned to the 1.5-mile track the following year, Matt Kenseth qualified his No. 17 Ford 21st and led the final 26 laps to capture the checkered flag.

In 2001, Burton kept the streak alive, leading 125 of 400 laps to earn his first of two wins that season.  Mark Martin netted Roush Fenway’s fourth-consecutive Coca-Cola 600 victory in 2002 – holding off a charging Kenseth –  leading the final 40 laps of the night.  Martin would go on to finish second in the overall driver standings.

Roush Fenway has made 196 starts at Charlotte Motor Speedway in the NSCS, earning eight wins, three poles and 45 top-fives.  The team has also brought home 77 top-10 finishes, while leading 2,625 laps.

Last year Greg Biffle finished runner-up in the 600, coming just one sport short of Roush Fenway’s fifth victory in NASCAR’s longest race.

The NSCS will take the green flag for the Coca-Cola 600 on Sunday at 6 p.m. ET on FOX.  Last weekend at Charlotte Motor Speedway, Roush Fenway drivers Trevor Bayne and Greg Biffle each raced their way into the Sprint All-Star Race, taking the checkered flag in the first and second segments of the Showdown, respectively.