Crazy Day of Roush Madness in Opening Round at Livonia

Crazy Day of Roush Madness in Opening Round at Livonia

CONCORD, N.C, (March 18, 2020) – Day two of Roush Madness is complete and it was a wild one! Brackets are busted, dreams are dashed, and Cinderella is alive and well as the tournament rolls into day three of intense action. Tuesday featured the biggest upset in tournament history, a barn burner and two more dramatic upsets as Roush Madness continues to roll in search of the greatest driver in Roush Fenway history.  

Bracket Busters! 

Three of the six Livonia matchups were upsets in terms of seeding, with the No. 10 seed Chase Briscoe upsetting No. 7 Travis Pastrana, No. 11 Kyle Busch defeating No. 6 Joe Ruttman, and the largest upset of the tournament thus far with No. 14 Kevin Swindell edging No. 3 Ted Musgrave. 


Ted Musgrave, who made 305 starts all-time in the NASCAR Cup Series, was upended 52.3% to 47.7% in voting. Musgrave drove the No. 16 machine for Jack Roush from 1994-98, while Swindell made just one start, filling in for Trevor Bayne in the Xfinity Series back in 2011. 

Briscoe Making Program 60 Proud 

Chase Briscoe, one of the three drivers of the No. 60 Xfinity Series entry in 2019, defeated Travis Pastrana 66-33.  

Sadler Blow Out 

Elliott Sadler handled his (8) v (9) matchup handily, defeating Nathan Haseleu 90-9. Sadler drove the No. 1 machine for Jack Roush in 2015 in the Xfinity Series, earning 17 top-10s en route to a sixth-place finish in the standings.  

Not Close Calls 

No. 11 seed Kyle Busch (62-38), No. 5 seed Bubba Wallace (63-36) and No. 4 seed Chad Little (71-28) all handled their respective matchups with ease, and move on to the Round of 32. 

Up Next 

The Concord, North Carolina region is up next in Roush Madness as Carl Edwards leads the way as the No. 1 seed. Concord’s matchups include No. 8 Chuck Bown vs. No. 9 Stanton Barrett, No. 5 Chris Buescher vs. No. 12 Brian Ickler, No. 4 Erik Darnell vs. No. 13 Tim Woods, No. 3 Jamie McMurray vs. No. 14 Joey Clanton, No. 6 Johnny Benson vs. No. 11 John Wes Townley, and No. 7 Paul Menard vs. No. 10 Chuck Hossfield.