RFK Weekly Advance | Darlington I

RFK Weekly Advance | Darlington I

Roush Fenway Keselowski Weekly Advance | Darlington

The annual NASCAR Throwback weekend is on tap this weekend at Darlington Raceway as the Cup Series battles the track Too Tough to Tame Sunday afternoon for its first of two race events in 2022. Jack Roush has 20 wins all-time at Darlington including five in the Cup Series.



NASCAR Cup Series Race at Darlington

Sunday, May 8 | 3:30 p.m. ET

FS1, MRN, SiriusXM Channel 90

  • Brad Keselowski, No. 6 Socios Ford Mustang
  • Chris Buescher, No. 17 Socios Ford Mustang



Throwin’ it Back to 2004

Both of RFK’s Ford Mustangs this weekend will match that of 2004 schemes from the Roush Racing days. Keselowski’s No. 6 machine will be similar to Mark Martin’s iconic blue and white scheme from the 2004 season, while Chris Buescher will recognize the popular No. 17 scheme Matt Kenseth made famous in 2004.


Darlington Two-Step

RFK has twice won consecutive NCS races at Darlington, including a season sweep in 1999 with former driver and current NBC commentator Jeff Burton. RFK also earned victories in consecutive seasons at the egg-shaped oval in 2005 and 2006 with Biffle.


Tale of the Tape

In 254 all-time NASCAR starts at ‘The Lady in Black,’ Jack Roush’s Fords have 20 wins, 69 top-five and 119 top-10 finishes, along with 20 poles. Over the years RFR has led 4,500+ laps across the Cup, Xfinity and Truck series, with more than 89,000 miles logged at the 1.366-mile track. In NCS action alone, RFK has finished top-10 in 43 percent (72-of-168) of the races with 35 top-five results and five wins.


Kickin’ It Old School

Legendary RFK drivers Mark Martin, Jeff Burton and Greg Biffle are responsible for the five Cup wins for Jack Roush at Darlington. Martin earned Roush’s first Cup win back in 1993 after leading 178 laps. Burton swept the 1999 events as the dominant car, and Biffle earned the two most recent victories in 2005 and 2006.


Most All-Time

It’s no secret that when Roush has dominated in the Xfinity Series at Darlington. In 79 starts, the organization has 15 wins, 33 top-five and 44 top-10s. Mark Martin is responsible for eight of the victories, second-most for him among any track, after winning five of the first seven races at the track for Roush from 1993-96. He also went on to win in 1999 and swept again in 2000. Jeff Burton got in on the fun with wins in 1997, 2001 and 2002, while Biffle earned a win in 2004. Most recently, Kenseth drove to victory lane in 2005 and 2009.


RFK Darlington Wins


1993-2   Martin  Cup

1999-1   Burton  Cup

1999-2   Burton  Cup

2005       Biffle     Cup

2006       Biffle     Cup

1993-2   Martin  NXS

1994-1   Martin  NXS

1994-2   Martin  NXS

1995-2   Martin  NXS

1996-1   Martin  NXS

1997-2   Burton  NXS

1999-2   Martin  NXS

2000-1   Martin  NXS

2000-2   Martin  NXS

2001-2   Burton  NXS

2002-1   Burton  NXS

2002-2   Burton  NXS

2004-1   Biffle     NXS

2005       Kenseth NXS

2009       Kenseth NXS




By the Numbers at Darlington

Series         Race      Win       T5           T10         Pole       Laps       Led        AvSt      AvFn     Miles

 Cup               168         5              35           72           7         53598    2724       17.0        16.0        73214.8

 XFINITY       79           15           33           44           12       10616    1856       9.9          12.9        14501.4

Truck               7              0              1              3              1          944         9              16.0        15.9        1289.50

254         20           69           119         20           65158    4589       14.6        15.1        89005.5