RFK Weekly Advance | Phoenix II

RFK Weekly Advance | Phoenix II

Roush Fenway Keselowski Weekly Advance | Phoenix II

The 2022 NASCAR Cup Series season comes to a close this weekend out West as Phoenix Raceway hosts the Championship race. Jack Roush has 17 wins all-time at Phoenix including seven in the NCS, while Chris Buescher is coming off a career-best P10 finish there this spring.


NASCAR Cup Series Race at Phoenix

Sunday, Nov. 6 | 3 p.m. ET

NBC, MRN, SiriusXM Channel 90

  • Brad Keselowski, No. 6 Kohler Generators Ford Mustang
  • Chris Buescher, No. 17 Fastenal Ford Mustang


Hooked on Phoenix

Roush Fenway has 299 combined starts at Phoenix, totaling 17 wins, 75 top-five and 135 top-10 finishes. RFK Fords have nine poles and have led 4,031 laps at the 1-mile track.


Winning in the Desert

RFK has won at Phoenix in all three of NASCAR’s major divisions, with the organization’s first win coming in the fall of 1993 with NASCAR Hall of Famer and former driver Mark Martin in the NCS. RFK won the second-ever NASCAR Xfinity Series race at Phoenix in 2000 and former driver Greg Biffle claimed the organization’s 100th overall NASCAR Xfinity Series win at Phoenix in 2009.


Former driver Carl Edwards also won at the track that fall to give RFK the season sweep. All in all, six drivers have won NASCAR races for RFK at Phoenix (Martin, Biffle, Edwards, Kurt Busch, Matt Kenseth and Joe Ruttman). In addition, Edwards swept Phoenix in the fall of 2010, winning both the NXS and NCS events.


Xfinity Success

Phoenix was one of the strongest tracks for RFK’s Xfinity program. In 93 starts, the organization won eight times, earned 27 top-fives, 53 top-10s and has led 1,406 laps. RFK most recently went to victory lane with Edwards in Nov. 2010. Its eight wins rank most of any track on the circuit behind only Charlotte (12), Darlington (15), Richmond (9) and Rockingham (10).


Tale of the Tape

RFK has started 170 NCS races at Phoenix, recording a total of seven victories, 35 top-five finishes, 61 top-10 finishes, four poles and has led 2,291 laps. Edwards earned RFK’s most recent victory at Phoenix in the March 2013 event.


RFK Phoenix Wins

1993       Martin  Cup

1997-2   Ruttman Truck

2000       Burton  Cup

2000       Burton  NXS

2001       Biffle     Truck

2001       Burton  Cup

2001       Biffle     NXS

2002       Kenseth Cup

2005-1   Busch    Cup

2005-2   Edwards NXS

2006-2   Kenseth NXS

2008-2   Edwards NXS

2009-1   Biffle     NXS

2009-2   Edwards NXS

2010-2   Edwards Cup

2010-2   Edwards NXS

2013-1   Edwards Cup


By the Numbers at Phoenix

Race      Win       T5           T10           Pole       Laps       Led        AvSt      AvFn     Miles

170         7              35               61                 4              50953         2291       18.4        16.2        50953

93           8              27              53                5              17917         1406       11.3        11.7        17917

36           2              13              21                 0              5195            334         12.3        12.4        5195

299         17           75              135               9              74065    4031       15.3        14.3        74065