The Clash: What you need to know

The Clash: What you need to know

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla. (Feb. 9, 2021) – The 2021 NASCAR Cup season officially kicks off with Tuesday’s Clash race at the Daytona International Speedway road course.

The Clash field consists of 24 drivers who were 2020 Pole Award winners, past Clash winners, Daytona 500 champions, former Daytona 500 pole winners, 2020 NASCAR Cup series playoff drivers, race winners and stage winners. To be eligible, drivers also had to have competed full-time in 2020. The annual non-points event will be 35 laps.

Ryan Newman is eligible to compete due to his 2008 Daytona 500 victory. Chris Buescher will compete for the first time in his career after winning a stage during last year’s season. Newman and Buescher will take the green flag 11th and 13th, respectively.

The Clash airs Tuesday, Feb. 9 on FOX Sports 1, MRN and SiriusXM NASCAR Radio at 7 p.m. EST.